Charlie Hughes Interview (02/02/2016)

This is a first for Music Season since we have never got an entire interview organised and completed all in one day, let alone organised, completed and put up! But I guess that’s what happens when professionalism enters the picture and there aren’t many more professional than our next act. Charlie Hughes really impressed me with his new track ‘Lay Me Down’ which I was sent earlier in the day; I really had no idea what I was about to listen to. It’s a track that I thought was unbelievably catchy whilst still keeping a sense of atmospheric beauty; I guess that’s what happens when you pair a great singer with a great track. It’s very rare for a song to really capture the emotional values it aims to portray, but Charlie manages to hit that heart string with every strum. All of this combined makes us incredibly proud to present to you our interview with Charlie Hughes! The Q&A went as below:

Q. What would you describe your music as being? What repertoire would you class it as?

A. Depends which song of mine you’ve heard I suppose. If you listen to my first releases ‘Strawberries and Stars’ one would describe it as Pop. However my recent release is holds itself into the more folky corner. The latter is were I’d certainly like to be. I don’t think all my music sound is for the masses, maybe this territory will be more excepting to the sound I’d like to move into at the moment. A more rusty dark and haunting sound.

Q. Who are your biggest influences when it comes to making music? What inspires you to make music?

A. Since I first heard Cannonball and The Blowers Daughter I’ve been a huge fan of Damien Rice. I always try and write like him but nothing ever comes close. Maybe thats a good thing. So its not an intimation. There’s bands and other artists that I truly appreciate yet Damien really hooked me from the start and threw me into a circle of artists I’ll never let go of. Such as Glen Hansard, Lisa Hannigan, Leonard Cohen to name a few…
I’m inspired by women really. Most of my songs are reactions to a girls disappointing actions or an admiration of a particular girl. They’re very passive aggressive at times and I’ve recently enjoyed sparing no detail, I hope to continue that trait. Maybe I’ll write a nice song one day.

Q. What album/albums would you put up there as your favourite of all time?

A. Damien Rice aside? ‘Blood Sugar Sex Magic’ by the Red Hot Chili Peppers; ‘The Wall’ by Pink Floyd; The Beatles White Album and Abbey Road.

Q. What was the best gig you’ve ever been to?

A. Walk Off The Earth. You need to look them up. If you see their videos you’ll soon see why the gig would be an awesome event!

Newton Faulkner always puts on a great show. If he’s not playing another great set there’s always an hilarious anecdote or an amusing exchange between him and his audience. He’s a real people person. I hope to have that kind of atmosphere if I ever tour to that kind of scale.

Q. What is your writing process like when it comes to creating new tunes? Is there a particular order you do everything in or is it more spur of the moment?

A. Yes. Spur of the moment sitting playing my guitar with no real intention of writing. There always has to be something on my mind to write about of course and thats usually what I’ll write about. But I can’t sit down and write a song. I just don’t know how to write one. If a line with a good melody comes out over a decent chord progression, great! That’s when I start to feel inspired to carry it on and write. Sometimes things do play out but if it hasn’t grabbed me, I won’t feel the need to push on through. I wouldn’t know where to go with it. I hope that makes sense.

Q. So you released your debut track ‘Lay Me Down’ earlier this year and we gotta say you have a killer sound man! What was the experience like to record that track and how have you enjoyed the studio side of music thus far.

A. Recording, for myself, was easy. Luckily all I had to do was record what I already new. The words and the guitar. When you’re track is being developed in such away, adding string layers and what-not, its a wonderful feeling having it evolve and having the people and MST Sounds support me was great. It’s great to have such a backing and a belief in what I can do.

Q. What have you got planned this year musically whether it be recording or touring?

A. I’ll be gigging around the Manchester circuit mainly while concentrating on the next release. Which at this moment seems to be a solid album. I think I have enough content to release and I hope people really like it. Gigging around Manchester might help me write some new stuff to. At least I hope so.

Q. What was the last song you listened to and would you recommend it?

A. Rachel Sermanni – ‘Run’. I certainly do recommend it. I’m in love with this girl. Music and all.

And there we have it! We honestly can’t say enough good things about this act so that’s why we want you all to click that link down below and find his SoundCloud music immediately, then you will get what we are on about. As always we implore you to send some love to his social media platforms and add his music to your daily playlist, you won’t regret it!

11709674_886904821389631_5410853489472111202_n

Charlie Hughes Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/CT.Hughes/?fref=ts

Charlie Hughes Website: http://www.charlie-hughes.co.uk/

Charlie Hughes Twitter Page: https://twitter.com/charliesmakinme

Charlie Hughes SoundCloud: https://soundcloud.com/cthughes

Charlie Hughes GooglePlay: https://play.google.com/store/music/album?id=Bcduuoe2yrora3nsd5ir76hxgfi&tid=song-T3ienrrz3wataksuzk7qwvkmcpe&hl=en_GB

Charlie Hughes YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/charliesmakinme

MST Sounds Website: www.mstsounds.com

Leave a Reply

