Wolfe Sunday Interview (05/02/2016)

*** RE-UPLOAD ***

Wolfe Sunday is an act which is somewhat of an anomaly across genres. With a bit of folk, mixed with a bit of funk and a whole lot of talent, Wolfe Sunday creates highly innovative tunes that are immensely catchy from the first listen. With that typically British tone mixed with a ton of character, he produces melodies that are instantly recognizable further raising his individuality much higher than your typical acoustic singer. An very confident and bold act, he manages to create a very professional and original sound that to many is very inventive in the niche type aspects.

loriwolfe4

With all this combined, we are hence incredibly proud to present to you our interview with Wolfe Sunday! The Q&A went as below:

Q. How would you describe your act, what’s your repertoire or favoured genre?

A. Wolfe Sunday is an energetic, face paced, off the wall folk-punk act, performing punk songs, acoustically! A bunch of kids that come to my shows coined the term ‘anarcoustic’ to describe my sound, and the word has caught on to describe a bunch of other people’s music in the same genre in our scene. A guy called Russ Crimewave actually just put out a song called ‘Anarcoustic Songs’ (he’s great check him out).

Q. Who are you influences and do you feel you take certain aspects of these artists when writing your own music?

A. I’m really influenced by the American folk-punk scene. Bands like Days N Daze, Ramshackle Glory, all those guys that just bum about the US catching trains and playing to tiny bars. I love the romanticised idea of that lifestyle. Being DIY has always been important to me, and those guys have got it down! The UK also has a great folk-punk scene, with guys like Frank Turner and Beans on Toast, who have also influenced my writing style alot. I’m also heavily infuenced by loads of old school skate punk and hardcore stuff like Minor Threat, Fugazi, Black Flag, Misfits. Those guys will forever haunt my CD player.

Q. What has been your favourite gig to perform at so far and why?

A. There’s been loads of gigs that I’ve come home from and gone ‘wow, that was the coolest thing ever. But one that really stands out is the gig I did in a launderette. I real, everyday launderette, with people washing their clothes right by me, wondering what was going on. Basically, some mates really wanted to put on a punk show, but had no venue, so we jokingly said, lets just crash a launderette, and start playing. Then we got serious about it, and a few weeks later, there we were. I remember being on top of a washing machine, jamming out.

Another great gig will always have to be when I opened for this great band called Loreley at their album launch. They had only hired a tiny venue but it was packed out! I remember the guitarist of Loreley new the chords to my last song and we had a deal where every time we played a show together he would just get up and play with me, so I’d be free to jump on people. SO there he was, on stage, playing, and there I was, basically climbing on the roof, grabbing the faces of people, screaming the lyrics. Good times.

Q. How did it feel to get sponsored by such a big company like Beefeater Gin and get the opportunity to gig internationally?

A. Gigging internationally has always been a dream come true, and I never expected to be able to play Eastern Europe so soon into my career, let alone to be sponsored by such a big company. From the moment they offered, I was a little suspicious, thinking they were just going to scam me or something. I was skeptical right until the point of boarding the plane. Literally a few hours later, I was setting up for the first show, to a crowd of people who didn’t even use the same alphabet as me, let alone speak my language! But all those shows were crazy good, I did a couple of weeks touring round there. I’ll always remember this one gig where, out of no where, this lovely elderly couple just started dancing, right in front of me. It was so beautiful that I extended the song about three choruses longer than it should have been. I didn’t want them to stop!

Q. What’s your favourite part of the studio recording process?

A. Recording the new album I’m putting out in March, ‘Empty Bottles, Broken Bones’, was actually a new experience for me, as I’ve always been so DIY when it came to recordings previously. In fact, my first album, ‘Troubadour’ I recorded by breaking into my local radio station in the middle of the night and using their microphones. They would finish up for the day at about 10pm and I would sneak in just as they left, record until about6am, clear up all the files I’d made and run off before their breakfast show! I don’t think there’s been many recording sessions more punk than that! ‘EBBB’ was an entirely different experience, and one that was new to me. I’d never worked with anyone else musically and this time I’d inlisted the help of a drummer to lay some sick beats for the record, to give it a fuller sound.  It was good to get fresh ears working on the tracks I’d written too. I’d also never had a real producer to lead my music in a single direction, saying that he hated some bits, and loved others. The result of this was songs that I think all of us are proud of!

Q. What have you got planned this year in terms of recording or touring?

A. I’ve got a big release show at The Penny Theatre, Canterbury, on the 25th March for the new record. It’s going to be one massive party, and the other acts playing are great. After that I’m going to be stomping up and down the country as much as possible, jamming to anyone who wants to hear me. I’m planning a US tour this autumn, which was meant to happen last year but life got in the way, so that is really exciting.

Q. What do you think of the current British folk scene?

A. I think it’s amazing. We’re so lucky to have a generation of really talented musicians rising up, being able to record and tour and even in some cases make it into the charts. There so much fresh new blood on the scene, as well as people that are willing to give these guys a chance, be it at shows, or on labels, or just like you guys, promoting on a cool site. Music has never been so good, you just have to look past the rubbish thats shovelled into our radios and Tvs.

Q. What has it been like getting exposure as an artist in your area?

A. I think I’ve been so lucky, to come into contact with so many great promoters who have put on good shows again and again. I’ve met so many great musicians who I’ve then gone on to work with, perform with and party with. I live in Essex, so I’m close to London which has a great scene, but I grew up in Kent and so know many of the venues there from my teenage years, hanging about at crusty punk shows. They’ve given me so many chances throughout the course of my career so far and I’m so lucky to live in an area with such a vibrant music scene that a guy playing shouty folk music can get so many gigs.

Q. What would you say to young folk artists wanting to break the scene at the moment?

A. In the ever present words of Shia LaBeouf, just do it! Go to your local open mic, sing your guts out, get noticed, make lots of friends, set up your own DIY gigs (it doesn’t have to be in a launderette), and just have fun! The great thing about the local folk scene is, anyone can do it. You don’t have to be able to play like a shredding rock god, or sing like  Freddie Mercury, you can know four chords and be able to shout a bit, and you’ll get by!

Q. What was the last song you listened to and would you recommend it?

A. The last song I listened to was ‘Caitlyn’ by ‘Jank’. I would definitely recommend it.

And there we have it! It was great fun doing this segment and Wolfe Sunday is a brilliant nice fella with a very professional outlook.  These are some of the best answers we’ve ever had also so if any budding artists out there are reading to this, really take what this guy says on board as it’s some excellent advice.

10978511_922915894393795_3129877363531377590_n

As always we implore that you send some love to Wolfe Sunday’s social media and add his music onto your daily playlist, you won’t regret it!

Wolfe Sunday Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/wolfesunday/?fref=ts

Wolfe Sunday YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC34u-Sw7j0AaMDlPgE7VbMQ

Wolfe Sunday Twitter Page: twitter.com/wolfesunday

Wolfe Sunday Instagram Page: instagram.com/wolfesunday

Wolfe Sunday Tumblr Page: wolfesunday.tumblr.com

Leave a Reply

