Jack the Lad Interview (03/01/2016)

Gosh aren’t we posting a lot today? We felt we should kick the new year off on the right foot giving you as much quality content as possible! With that, quality doesn’t come better than the artist we have for you today… The first devout rapper we’ve had on the site and he’s claiming that spot with style! With catchy beats that get the fists pumping and body moving whilst also adding a very individualised approach to rap; the guy has got immense flow with the lyrical weight to back him up. With a bit of tongue and cheek as well as big accolades to back him up; he also has the full game. We are very proud to present our interview segment with Jack the Lad! The questions and responses went as below:

Q. What would you say your particular music style/repertoire is; how would you describe your music?

A. Old skool Hip Hop with a story telling South Yorkshire twist. Adding in that cheeky chap, Jack the Lad twang, Just to give it some extra flavour. And that’s only your starter and main covered.

Q. Who are your biggest influences when making music and do you feel you take any aspects from their style and add it to your own?

A. I tend to follow Skinnyman’s style quite a lot. Council Estate Of Mind, for me. Was probably the album which set a bar above the rest. I wanted to become a story teller and I wanted to portray it along with my northern accent. I want my music to become addictive, like a good book you just can’t seem to put down. And I think Skinnyman’s album really did just that for me.

Q. What album/albums would you put up there as your favourite of all time?

A. Skinnyman – Council Estate Of Mind
Eminem – The Marshall Mathers LP
Dr. DRE – Chronic
Jurrasic 5 – Power In Numbers

Q. A little birdy told us you’ve had some great performance moments including some accolades along the way! Where was your favourite gig and how did it go down?

A. I recently headlined The Leadmill in Sheffield. That was one of the most uplifting gigs that I’d ever had the pleasure to perform at. The support I received was immense. It’s something which will definitely go down in history. For my portfolio and for the venues as well. As I am the first independent rapper to have headlined their venue.

Q. Have you got any big plans for the near future in the recording process or touring?

A. I’m currently working on my second album ‘You Don’t Know Jack’ and whilst that is being constructed in the studio. I’ve got a few story boards wrote out for a couple of music videos. As for touring, I’m still looking for a touring manager to help me out on expanding my gigs wider afield. So for the time being I will be performing local and just expand my fan base.

Q. ‘Jack the Lad’, it’s sounds like a stupid question, but how did you come about to acquire this name?

A. A lass I was seeing a few years ago gave me the name and it kind of just stuck when I became managed by a vocal tutor. She insisted on me pushing the name. More to do with the English stamp about it rather than its more prominent meaning haha.

Q. What was the last song you listened to and would you recommend?

A. Ed Sheeran – Sing.
Would I recommend that song? Hell yerr!

Professional and an incredibly well spoken guy, as a rapper and as a person he’s the full deal. His music videos are a good watch, his music has that true British edge that we all like in modern rappers and he also has a mean performance game to himself. One to definitely watch for the future so do us a favour and get onto his social media and look up his music! Send some love because Jack the Lad is one hell of a worker; he deserves it all!

Jack the Lad Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/JackTheLadVT/

Jack the Lad Twitter: https://twitter.com/iam_jackthelad

Jack the Lad YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCc4_pscH8qev675UaWUgtPA

Leave a Reply

