Sophie Hosken-Taylor Interview (01/01/2016)

*** RE-UPLOAD ***

Sophie Hosken-Taylor came to our attention in response to an article we put out a while back on the hunt for new talent. After her very politely worded email was received, we have to admit we were blown away by this girls talent. With a very raw and ‘rootie’ voice, we immediately fell in love with her unique tone which took us on a journey with each lyric. With each new musical outing she manages to grab hold of the folk genre and re-invent it making it appeal to a much wider demographic (something the folk genre has needed for years and years). She utilises the heart felt lyrical content and combines it with brand new and clever melodies that make the catchy hook that much more meaningful. With all this we are proud to present to you our interview with Sophie Hosken-Taylor! The Q&A went as below:

Q. What would you describe your music as being? What repertoire would you class it as?
A. Whenever I talk about my music, I always describe it as “Nostalgic Folk Pop”. It’s a bit of a misfit between folk and pop – the term was coined by an audience member a while ago at a gig and ever since then it’s just sort of clicked into place!
Q. Who are your biggest influences when it comes to making music? What inspires you to make music?
A. My biggest influence would be Josephine Vander Gucht, currently one half of the duo Oh Wonder. I also take huge influence from Joni Mitchell and Nick Drake. I think generally, music is my emotional outlet. I’ve not always been very coherent when it comes to expressing myself and music allows me to do that in a different way.
Q. What album/albums would you put up there as your favourite of all time?
A. Ooh. That’s a really hard question! Favourite albums of all time… Well my current favourite album is either Every Kingdom by Ben Howard or Heavier Things by John Mayer. I don’t think I could pick a favourite of all time!
Q. It must of been a great honour to receive the Wath Festival’s Young Performer Award as well as earning the accolade of being one of Bristol’s most influential Bristolians under 24! How did it feel having all these awards suddenly go this way and how satisfying was it knowing that your music was receiving the exposure and praise it deserved? It must of been a brilliant experience.
A. Equally they were both big moments of my musical career so far and I am so grateful to have received both. It’s really encouraging to get those incredible moments which really give you that extra push to keep going and doing as much as possible. 2015 was just a whirlwind of experiences and opportunities so I’m just incredibly grateful for all of it really.
Q. What was the best gig you’ve ever been to?
A. I don’t really go out to gigs very often. I’m actually just old before my time and tend to get home and stick something on to watch rather than go out! One of the best gigs I went to though was probably a few years ago when I saw Jose Vanders at The Borderline in London. It was really intimate and quite a nice little venue. I’ve wanted to play there ever since that gig!
Q. What is your writing process like when it comes to creating new tunes? Is there a particular order you do everything in or is it more spur of the moment?
A. I’m actually a really unfocused songwriter. I tend to write lots of starting points and then come back to them later on. I’d definitely say it’s a spur of the moment kind of style. I tend to improvise around the guitar until I find something I like and then I do the same vocally to find a top line melody.
Q. What was the last song you listened to and would you recommend it?
A. I’m currently binge listening to Joni Mitchell’s Both Sides Now (2000 version) and have been for the past two days. I’m quite fond of the original, but the rearranged version is so beautiful. There’s just so much raw emotion in it. I’d definitely recommend it!
So there we have it! Sophie is an incredibly sweet individual with a killer sound to boot. She has all that is professional and more; if you can’t tell already, we had a great time making this segment! So as always we implore you to send some love to Sophie’s social media platforms and add her music to your daily playlist, you won’t regret it!
Sophie Hosken-Taylor Facebook Page: http://www.facebook.com/sophiehoskentaylor
Sophie Hosken-Taylor Official Website: http://www.sophiehoskentaylor.co.uk/
Sophie Hosken-Taylor SoundCloud: https://soundcloud.com/sjhoskent
Sophie Hosken-Taylor Twitter: https://twitter.com/sjhoskent
Sophie Hosken-Taylor YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/sophiehoskentaylor
Leave a Reply

