Jade Howe Interview (02/02/2016)

Jade Howe is another one of these surprise acoustic acts we had get in touch recently and yet again the quality doesn’t decline in anyway here. Taking the acoustic genre and making it ‘grungy’ is rare direction to take; an unexplored area of music that many doesn’t think about. However, personally I’ve been waiting for a revival of that Jeff Buckley-esque style and we might have that gem right here with Jade Howe. With a new EP on the horizon, it’s fair enough to say that we are incredibly excited about this act! With a unique tone to her voice, she creates bitter sweet versions of popular metal songs and manages to make them almost hauntingly beautiful. A really stylistic approach to music and an instantly recognisable voice, Jade Howe certainly has some potential I can tell you that! With all this said, we are incredibly proud to present to you our interview with Jade Howe! The Q&A went as below:

Q. What would you describe your music as being? What repertoire would you class it as?

A. It’s kind of a difficult genre to describe to be honest, I tend to go for alternative rock however my music has a strong acoustic element as most of my songs begin life on an acoustic guitar or piano. My new EP ‘The Light’ features a mixture of these purely acoustic songs and a couple of band style alternative rock pieces so if you’re a rock fan I think you’d like it.

Q. Who are your biggest influences when it comes to making music? What inspires you to make music?

A. I’ve been surrounded by music all my life and the musicians I hear inspire me to create my own tracks to share with other people. When I was around 7 or 8 I remember telling my parents “I’m going to be the next Joe Satriani! With more hair of course” and I absolutely adored this guitar genius; as I have grown older my ambitions have developed and I now want to make make music with others and share my artwork so that even if it only resonates with one person it matters as I could inspire that person to follow their passion and dreams too. My life experiences and my new ambitions are the driving force behind my music and my friends and family have played a huge part in inspiring me to achieve my full potential.

Q. What album/albums would you put up there as your favourite of all time?

A. Countdown to Destruction – Megadeth, The Broken Toys – Bad Pollyanna, Restoring Force – Of Mice and Men, Funhouse – P!NK and of course Bring Me To Life – Evanescence. I could name so many more but I think right now these are my top 5. I have a very varying musical taste.

Q. What is the music scene like in West Yorkshire then? Is it a quiet type of deal or was it quite easy to find opportunities around there?

A. The first gig I ever went too was Evanescence at the Leeds O2 Academy and I loved it, my first introduction to live performance and I’ve been in love with it ever since! I personally feel like West Yorkshire is up and coming on the music map with Leeds at the forefront. The new First Direct Arena has brought so many more bands to the city and even our little venues such as Brudenell Social Club draw in quite a crowd from around West Yorkshire and beyond. Although I still believe Manchester is best for show lineup when the big bands do their tours Leeds is now getting these bands coming to them as well. As for Bradford, my home city, the little pubs and clubs around the outskirts in Baildon and Saltaire are fantastic for open mic nights and acoustic shows but other than that I can’t say that Bradford is known for its music events! I’ve been involved with SORM (School of Rock and Media) who put on yearly events known as SORM Fest and this is one of the biggest music events I personally have seen in Bradford and one of the most entertaining!

Q. Being an acoustic musician, what is your writing process like when it comes to creating new tunes? Do you get the vocals written first lyrically or do you concentrate on putting some sweet chords together?

A. My writing process varies from song to song; some begin with a guitar riff and evolve from there and others from a vocal melody however each one does develop one step at a time usually. I’m a very emotional writer and I have used music as an outlet for my problems for many years, if i’ve had a bad day I’ll come home and write a song because it helps me release these feelings in a creative way. One thing I will suggest to all musicians however is when writing a song please take notes, I have written so many songs only to forget them a week later! I’ve had to teach myself over the past few years to always carry a notebook of lined paper and manuscript paper just incase I get ideas at any time and it’s always good to record your idea processes on a phone or other recording device because even if you don’t use them in the song you’re writing at the time when you listen back in a few months you could end up loving the concept and developing it, never waste an idea.

Q. What was the best gig you’ve ever been to?

A. That’s a difficult question to answer, I’ve been to so many fantastic nights. The first ever gig I saw, Evanescence, is of course my most memorable however I think the best gig I’ve been to so far was Alter Bridge in Manchester for their 2014 tour. The atmosphere in the arena was fantastic, everybody was singing along and when Myles Kennedy came out with just himself and an acoustic guitar he managed to stun everybody, it was fantastic. I am due to see Chris Cornell this year however so my opinion could change, we’ll see.

Q. What has been your favourite musical experience so far?

A. My career as a musician is just beginning however I’ve had some fantastic experiences so far. I think i’m torn between two events. Performing at the Royal Albert Hall in 2014 with the Bradford Youth Group was fantastic, over 100 students from around the Bradford district got together and performed a composition live to hundreds of people from around the country. My second favourite event would be performing at the local SORM fest for the first time a few years back, I was so nervous as this was one of my first performing events and it went fantastically! I hope that many more amazing experiences come to pass as I develop my career, with the release of my first ever EP ‘The Light’ there are so many new oppertunities arising for myself as a solo artist and working with other musicians.

Q. What was the last song you listened to and would you recommend it?

A. The last song I listened to was Deceiver by Disturbed from their album Indestructable and I would most definitely recommend this song and the entire album!

So there we have it, our interview with Jade Howe! As always we implore you to send some love to Jade’s social media platforms and add her music to your daily playlist, you won’t regret it!

Jade Howe Facebook Page:  Www.Facebook.com/jadehowemusic

Jade Howe YouTube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/myeternaldarknessmcr

Leave a Reply

