Music News: Kid Cudi checks into rehab

The Cleveland based rap superstar Kid Cudi recently revealed today that he has indeed entered into a rehabilitation centre due to what he describes as ‘suicidal urges’ and ‘depression’.

Although Kid Cudi has made various headlines over the past two years negatively for mixed music reviews on his last LP, calling out Drake and Kanye West, and for his disdain for the modern music industry, it’s always a great shame to see a rapper in his prime having to go through such terrible times in his private life.

Cudi took to Facebook to explain further stating, “Yesterday I checked myself into rehab for depression and suicidal urges. I am not at peace. I haven’t been since you’ve known me. If I didn’t come here, I would’ve done something to myself. I simply am a damaged human swimming in a pool of emotions everyday of my life. Theres a raging violent storm inside of my heart at all times. [I don’t know] what peace feels like. [I don’t know] how to relax. My anxiety and depression have ruled my life for as long as I can remember and I never leave the house because of it. I cant make new friends because of it. I don’t trust anyone because of it and I’m tired of being held back in my life. I deserve to have peace. I deserve to be happy and smiling”.

This is just an excerpt from the long and emotional exclamation, but there are also other moments where he addressed the fans and his family directly by saying how he feels ‘ashamed’ and how he feels he has ‘been living lie’. Now this was incredibly brave and noble of him to come out and say; it took a lot of willpower to get to this position where he could appropriately respond to rumours of his rehabilitation and it took even further steel to directly communicate with those who he doesn’t want to hurt.

We of course wish a speedy recovery to Kid Cudi and an inevitable return to form for the hip-hop legend.

Leave a Reply

