Ashley Royer Interview (17/12/2015)

***RE-UPLOAD***

This week we were lucky enough to have tonnes of progress towards the site both mechanically and in variation of content. With updates to the sites visuals and improvements to article access; the only way has been up. However this isn’t the least important in comparison to that content we promised earlier in the week. We have been so lucky as to have the chance to talk to YouTube star Ashley Royer this week and here we have a little segment for you! It was an absolute pleasure contacting her and throughout this process she has been nothing but patient and polite which we cannot appreciate enough. Ashley is an incredibly talented singer and guitarist who posts regular covers to YouTube as well as being an accomplished author herself too; a lady of immense ability. The questions and responses went as below:

Q. What would you say is your favourite style of music to create, how would you describe it to a new audience?

A. I feel like my style of music is acoustic and laid back. Most of the songs I cover, I change to make them somewhat more my own, and they’re usually very softly sung and calm. I like to make music like that, as it fits my voice and personality best.

Q. So you’re also an author too and there is a pre-order out for your new book if I’m correct in stating? Where can our audience and us order this book and could we have a sneaky insight into what it will be about?

A. Right now, my book can be pre-ordered on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, cbd.com,bookdepository.com (which is worldwide), iTunes, and Books a Million. It is titled “Remember to Forget” and it follows the story of a teenager named Levi. He becomes depressed and stops talking when his girlfriend, Delia, dies tragically in a car accident. A few months after her death, he moves to America to live with his dad, where he meets new people. One girl, Delilah, reminds him of his girlfriend. From there, his life starts to change for the better! It will be available in stores to buy on April 5th.

Q. You’re also a YouTuber as I’m sure the majority of your fans already know and you’ve managed to pull in over 300,000 views in less than three years! So what would you say is your favourite style of video to post and what do you enjoy making the most for your channel?

A. Over the past three years, I’ve had so many video ideas, a lot of which I haven’t been able to film yet. I love making covers, but I also really like making videos where I’m just talking to my camera. I feel like that allows my followers to get to know me on a more personal level and allows me to connect more with them. Over the next year, I have a lot of videos I hope to film and post, and hopefully grow my channel!

Q. So you have many big plans for the New Year musically that we should all be looking out for?

A. At the moment, musically nothing much is happening. Right now, I’m focused more on my book and posting covers is just a hobby. I’ve never performed in front of anyone, so I may do a school show this year if I gain the courage to. I’m also trying to write my own songs and put out some of my own music, which is something I’ve always wanted to do.

Q. What album would you crown your favourite of all time and why?

A. I love Lewis Watson’s “The Morning” a lot. I found his music last year and I’ve been hooked ever since. He has a style somewhat similar to mine, it’s very soothing and relaxing, but has a little bit of pop to it. His lyrics are amazing, and he’s extremely talented. I don’t think I could ever get sick of listening to his album.

Q.  Who is your favourite artist right now and what was the last song you listened to?

A.  I have a few favorite artists right now. I listen to mostly bands, and 5 Seconds of Summer is definitely my favorite. I also really like The Front Bottoms and Modern Baseball. My music taste changes a lot though, but I always end up listening to them. The last song I listened to was “Domestic” by Somos.

Q. I’m sure there are lots of young singers and musicians reading this wanting to find exposure themselves as an act, so what advice would you give them when it comes getting your name out there and producing music that people actively wish to follow?

A. I was really hesitant when I first started posting covers. I thought no one would watch or like my videos, but now I have thousands of people watching them! The same goes for my writing, I never thought I would get millions of reads or a book published. My advice would just be to put their music, or anything they’ve created, out there for people to see. Now with so many popular social medias, people can share their work on multiple platforms. All you need is one person to like what you’ve made, and it will grow from there. Everyone starts from the same point, and it’s up to you to build your audience. The more effort you put in, the more people will begin to take notice! It takes time to build up an audience, but if you don’t give up, you’ll get there. I remember hitting 10, then 100, then 1,000 subscribers on my channel. It just takes time, and it’s so exciting watching your followers and views grow. It’s awesome to know that people actually enjoy what you’re putting out.

So there we have it! I can’t reiterate enough how easy-going Ashley was and I definitely recommend any young singers and or YouTuber’s to take her words into account very closely. Hop over to her YouTube channel and trust me you will be inspired!

Ashley Royer YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/callmeashley98

Ashley Royer Twitter: https://twitter.com/singsongash?lang=en-gb

Ashley Royer Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Ashley-Royer-1156665284348260/?fref=ts

Remember to Forget Pre-Order: http://www.amazon.com/Remember-Forget-Revised-Expanded-_smilelikeniall/dp/0310751713

Leave a Reply

