RYSE Interview (15/01/2016)

***RE-UPLOAD***

Ryse contacted us a while back in regards to an ad we put out a good few weeks or so ago. With a kindly worded E-Mail and all the tools supplied for us, we went digging to hear their music to make our assumptions on the group…

From the get-go you could tell that this band is full of level headed instrumentalists who know what they’re doing with riffs that left me salivating after every 30 second progression. The production quality was practically professional and the singer laid down some tasty and memorable melodies throughout the music we listened to. The drummer brought his arsenal of tight drumming sequences and spicy fills which only wowed us more. So if you combine all these components do you get? A bloody great sounding band. With grungy undertones mixed with some classic rock style rhythmic excellence and metallic eeriness in tonality, their music was beyond impressive. Delicately transitioning from powerful and abrasive to dark and unsettling, their sound is that you’d expect of a mature and already proven metal band. This makes us incredibly happy to announce our interview with RYSE! The Q&A went as below:

Q. What would you say your particular music style/repertoire is; how would you describe your music?
A. Ricky: That’s something we never really know how to answer. It’s predominantly rock but we dabble with a lot of other influences. For instance on Cowboys there’s a few riffs that flirt with metal, but there’s also a lot of classical influences such as piano and strings on other songs. We also try balance contemporary pop structures with more progressive songs. ‘Angels/Demons’,  the first track we put out follows a pretty simple structure, whereas a lot of other tracks like Cowboys are far more progressive in their structure. We call it recreational prog rock!
Q. Who are your biggest influences when making music and do you feel you take any aspects from their style and add it to your own?
A. Ricky: I’m a massive Tom Morello fan, although I don’t think that’s particularly evident in the songs we’ve released right now, but there are more RATM/Audioslave like guitar parts in upcoming tracks. I also love that frantic chaotic playing style Johnny Greenwood has, in fact, it was watching Radiohead who first made me wanna start playing guitar. As a front man I’ve always been so inspired by Freddie Mercury, I think as a performer its impossible not to be drawn in by that level of charisma, he really raised the standard to which all musicians strive towards.
Jake: My biggest influences are Steve Judd (Karnivool), Ilan Rubin (NIN, Paramore, AVA) and Dominic Howard (Muse). I feel I’m most influenced by Dominic, as I’ve listened to Muse from a young age and studied his drumming quite a bit, but I would definitely say I’ve developed my own style by taking aspects from all three.

Chris: My biggest influences when making music, are Muse, Radiohead, RHCP, Biffy Clyro etc. I’ve never tried to play like any one in particular, it’s more learning how they do certain things and let that influence my own style. But I think it’s important to try to find your own style.

Q. What album/albums would you put up there as your favourite of all time?
A. Ricky: Dark Side of the Moon’s probably my favourite record of all time, I’m a huge fan of concept albums, and love a piece of music that continuously flows from the first track to the last. But it’s a hard question to answer, there’s so much great stuff out there.
Jake: At the moment, my favourite album (it changes quite often) is Sound Awake by Karnivool. It’s a phenomenal album with so much variation, and has kept me on my toes while trying to learn some of the tracks. Other favourite albums of mine are All Killer No Filler by Sum 41, Songs for the Deaf by QOTSA and Absolution by Muse.
Chris:  My favourite album of all time without a shadow of a doubt is Pink Floyd’s Dark Side of the Moon. It’s such a well produced album and has been very influential on my life. It’s the only album I could listen to any time, any where. Other albums that I hold up there with are Muse’s ‘Origin of Symmetry’, The Beatles’ ‘Sgt Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band’ and Radiohead’s ‘Ok Computer’.
Q. Have you got any big plans for the near future in the recording process or touring?
A. Ricky: There’s a few things that we’re currently working on. The two tracks we’ve currently released are going to be professionally mixed, and there’s two new songs he’ll be mixing as well. We’ve got our distribution deal to sort out but after that those 4 tracks will be up on Spotify, Amazon, iTunes, Deezer, etc. hopefully around March time.
Jake: We’re also in the process of organising our first tour for this Summer, but we haven’t got the confirmation for which dates we’re where yet from the promoters. Asides from that though we have loads of gigs coming up all over the place. The big one at the moment is the O2 Academy Islington on the 30th January.
Q. So you guys use a ton of different riffs per song I’ve noticed and I gotta say ‘Space Cowboy’ in particular had some mouthwatering sequences throughout. What is your process when writing music and what would you say is your favourite part of writing and recording music?
A. Ricky: I wish I could be one of these musicians who has a great story about how they write their songs, but unfortunately for me it just comes out of nowhere. I’ll be doing something and something suddenly just pops into my mind that just triggers off the rest of the song. I’ll show the guys and Jake and I will sort of talk through the drums and work out the parts. He’s really good at understanding what I’m trying to communicate which is important as I don’t really play drums so can’t use the correct terminology. Lyrics I’ll write later, those I do think quite a lot about. Everyone in the world writes about love and observational situations so I try write about slightly different subjects like the darker aspects of modern life and technology. My favourite part of the process is when we first play a song through, just after everyone’s got their parts down. It’s such an amazing feeling to see something that came from your mind materialise in front of your eyes. It means the world to me.
Q. Where did you guys all originally meet?
A. Ricky: Jake and I met at the Academy of Contemporary Music in Guildford through a mutual friend who wanted to start a band. As things progressed it transpired he wasn’t all that into it and left, which left us putting adds up online for a bassist. That’s where Chris came into the picture.
Chris: I was looking for a band and I literally typed in Rock Band looking for a bassist and they were the first advert that popped up. The influences they put were pretty much just a list of my favourite bands… Muse, Radiohead, Biffy Clyro, Queens of the Stone Age… I did an audition and they told me more or less straight away that they wanted me.
Q. RYSE is a pretty sweet name and looks particularly awesome on paper, where did you guys get the name from?
A. Jake: When we originally formed the band, the first name we came up with and were happy with was ‘Empire’. Unfortunately there were already a few bands, and a studio, called that. So after struggling to think of something new for a while, I decided to translate Empire into a bunch of different languages, to see if anything cool came up. ‘Ryse’ is Czech (albeit missing a few accents) for Empire and we all liked the way it looked written down, so it’s nice to hear others feel the same!
Q. What was the last song you listened to and would you recommend it?
A. Ricky: I think the last thing I heard was on the radio, so was actually one of Justin Bieber’s new songs. I’ve heard a lot about how his new stuff is meant to be incredible but whilst I didn’t necessarily dislike I’d hardly say it was revolutionary. I’m also listening to a lot of Mew at the moment. They’re a Danish rock band that I’ve seen a few times, it’s incredible stuff. It’s all fairly progressive but maintains such a strong sense of melody, I’d recommend them to anyone who really enjoys music to be honest.
Jake:  The last song I listened to was ‘Redshift’ by Enter Shikari. I’d highly recommend it, it’s in the same vein as a lot of their material from The Mindsweep, the album they put out last year. Absolute banger.
Chris: The last song I listened to was actually Space Cowboys so I would definitely recommend it! Asides from that though I listened to Lazarus by David Bowie and I would definitely recommend it, in fact I would recommend the whole of his final album ‘Blackstar’, it’s such an incredible album and shows off just how brilliantly clever Bowie was as a musician.
And that’s all she wrote! It was a pleasure connecting with these guys and setting up this segment for your lovely readers out there. I urge any proudcer or budding promoters out there to take a look at these guys closely because they are years ahead of their time and definitely have a huge amount of potential in their favour. Having a professional sound on your first few recordings ultimately is so rare so when we state it, we mean it and these guys have it. So do us a favour here and go out there and listen to their tracks on Soundcloud and as always, send them some love on their social networks for the future!
Leave a Reply

