Rae Sremmurd ft. Gucci Mane ‘Black Beatles’ Song Review

God this track was a slog to get through. When I first saw the near 5 minute run time I thought, well maybe that’s because Gucci Mane (the guest appearance) wanted some more time on the mic in order to sound relevant to the track, boy was I wrong. The song just goes on and on and on, over and over, repeating the same sampled instrumentals from beginning to end; how can you have a 5 minute track with not a single change to the instrumentals, the dynamics, the progression, the timbre or the texture… It’s almost impressively unimaginative. So by now you’ve probably figured out that I really didn’t enjoy the accompaniment to this track, let me tell you why. I thought it was promising after the first ten seconds or so, but it honestly just never changes. The common time trap beat is flavourless and predictable and the little synths don’t add any diversity but rather just keep repeating the same 8 bar sequence. The worst part? That was all the instrumentation… Those two instruments were it, so no wonder the mix sounded so thin.

Well what about the vocal performances? To quote Anthony Fantano, ‘NOT GOOD’. The first rapper, one half of Rae Sremmurd (I can’t be bothered to look up his name as I won’t remember it), has possibly the worst voice for rapping. It’s weak, it has no ability to hold notes and it sounds forced to heck. It means his delivery for each line became monotone and safe with no emotion or personality being brought to the foreground. Lyrically the track was awful, I mean the whole track lyrically was awful not just this guys part. Comparing Rae Sremmurd to the Beatles is like comparing a vintage mustang to a Vauxhall Corsa hub cap; there is no comparison. Anyways back on to the performances… Gucci Mane suffered in different aspects, I felt he delivered the lines with strength and charisma, but his time on the track meant that he was pretty pointless; just as added verse. Of course lyrically his section was terrible as well but then that should be expected. The second member of Rae hub cap then delivered the final verse and you know what? It was okay… I mean again he had charisma and showed his persona off well, but the rhythmic structure to his line was on beat with no deviations; the flow was unbelievable tame, it was more like a trickling rain drop.

I haven’t got too much more to say about this track other than it should of been at least 1 minute shorter and it just didn’t do anything for me.

3/10 – It’s worrying how many 3’s I’m giving at the moment, I need a pick-me-up.

Leave a Reply

