Harriet Gold Interview (02/12/2015)

***RE-UPLOAD***

So here at String Buzz after the first few reviews we promised that we’d start getting you the music news we think should be delivered straight into your computers and phones around the world. So with this in mind we turned to the idea first of interviews and who we feel deserve your attention at this current moment in time! So we brainstormed a number of candidates we would really like to contact and more importantly why we’d like them to be featured as the first interview on our site! And that’s when I remembered… There was a young YouTube singer I used to listen whenever she posted any content regardless of the genre due to the immense talent I felt she had. Originally directed from featuring on the famous channel ‘Smosh’, I decided to give her music a look and ever since the songs she has produced have been downloaded to every item of technology I bloody well own. With a whopping 95,000 confirmed views on her YouTube channel within just five videos, it is our pleasure to say we got the opportunity to interview the lovely Harriet Gold herself! The questions and responses went as below:

Q. How would you describe your style of music and the type of music you love to create in your own time?
A. My type of music is probably some type of indie? I never really think much about it. I just do whatever sounds nice.
Q. Who was your biggest influence into creating music and do you think you designs aspects of your music around those influences?
A. I started making music when I was in primary school. I honestly don’t remember who inspired me, only that sometimes, writing songs is pretty much a basic need for me. I do it constantly.
Q. What was your reaction to being posted on one of ‘Smosh’s’ videos online and suddenly finding one of your songs flair up to getting upwards of 50,000 hits?
A. I posted the video in the afternoon, and it didn’t gain much views by the time I had to go to sleep. My dad stayed up late to watch the numbers grow, and he woke up super early to watch them again. When I opened up the computer and saw the numbers, I screamed, called my bff, and promptly told everyone about it. It’s pretty funny, once in a while I meet someone new and they’re like “oh my god, this one mutual friend we have showed me this video of yours, with the funky dance!”. It’s amazing.
Q. Have you got any big plans for the future musically whether it be as an artist or sound engineer?
A. My big plan is to grow, and never stop making music. My only setback is lack of time. I can write lyrics, can write down melodies, can even practice them, but I just don’t have any time to record… So my big plans are: make time for recording jams. I guess this is a plan both as an artist, and as a sound engineer!
Q. What advice would you give a young musician using social media to try and promote themselves?
A. My advice is: never give up. Keep making new goals for yourself, and never back down. Ten years ago or something around that time, when Youtube was super fresh, I posted a few covers of some pop songs (one was Rihanna’s “Umbrella”, I recall). I got literally only hate comments. People would say I suck, my English is horrible, I can’t sing, yadda yadda. It sucked. But I kept on singing, and growing, and changing. Since my Smosh tribute song, I only get nice comments, only wonderful words full of support and love. It’s pretty humbling, and makes me feel alive more than anything or anyone I’ve ever met. So: young artists, never give up. It could take you 5, or 10, or 20 years, but you will get there.
Q. Try and explain the bunny in your ‘I Feel Nothing’ video because for years it’s been stumping me and it’s one of the first things I remember when I listen to one of your songs!
A. Debora (the mastermind behind the video, and the most interesting person I’ve probably ever met, and will meet. Also, unrelated to that, but she’s really incredibly beautiful) listened to my song, and her first words were “fairy in a forest”. She immediately went on about white balloons, about a rabbit, about a deranged undead Alice from Wonderland. I loved the picture her words painted in my head, and we just rolled with it. If you want to see her photography, here’s her blog: http://deboraspiro.tumblr.com
Q. What is your favourite album of all time and why?
A. My favourite album has to be Tycho’s “Dive”. I discovered it on a long plane ride, and it changed me as a person. I found peace, and began seeing the beauty in my surroundings, every single day. Not a day goes by since I listened to that album, that I do not find something gorgeous to appreciate in the world around me. Do yourself a favour and listen to Tycho.
Q. Who’s the most famous music act or artist you have met and what was your reaction?
A. Met in person, or just saw live? I’ve seen AC/DC live and it was electric. I’ve met a famous Polish singer, Krzysztof Krawczyk, when I was a little kid. Nobody found it cool for years, but recently he became an Internet icon, so I guess I can brag about it again. Yes, I met Krzysztof Krawczyk. I don’t remember it, but I’m sure it was fantastic.
It was an absolute pleasure getting in contact with Harriet and she was an absolute doll to talk to. To see her enthusiasm in music and how lovely her reception was towards us as a site and the support she gave towards this project was more than we could of ever expected. So do yourself a favour if you haven’t already and go and check out all of Harriet’s videos, not only is she an awesome person, but her music as well is always top notch and would be among my highest recommendations:
Harriet Gold YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/harrietgold/videos
Harriet Gold Twitter: https://twitter.com/harriet_gold
Leave a Reply

