Danny Dangerously Interview (03/01/2016)

***RE-UPLOAD***

Danny Dangerously is a unique fusion of funk, rap, rock and parody aka a bloody brilliant listen. With a British edge to his voice and some immensely catchy grooves, this guys new album really caught us off guard. Totally different to anything on the site, totally different to anything you’ve ever heard and yet still a totally great listen. With lines that make you chuckle and lines that provoke thoughts too, the guy shows a masterclass of song writing from track to track. We were lucky enough to catch this guy for a segment so here you are! This is how the proceedings went:

Q. What would you say your particular music style/repertoire is; how would you describe your music?
A. I try to incorporate the things that interest me, I believe my tastes and progress are constantly changing and evolving, this reflects in my music. Its a big adventure of real feelings and experience, love, hate, God, the devil, politics, truth and lies, sci-fi, realism psychedelic and lovely places and different faces. I hope everybody finds something they like in my music.
Q. Who are your biggest influences when making music and do you feel you take any aspects from their style and add it to your own?
A. Life experience is my biggest influence, the ability to tell my side of the story. I have always been influenced by golden era hip hop from about 1987 to about 1995. There were so many original acts around that time, Beastie Boys, Public Enemy’s Chuck D said they call this noise, they want us to stop so we are gonna bring it, bring the noise. Koolkeith from Ultramagnetic MC’s was always performing under alter egos, I loved Massive Attack as well and their approach to making music as a collective. David Bowie has been a big influence on my ideas of how I make music, there’s a whole Bowie universe of things he did in the 70’s and 90’s that are worth references and are unavoidable really in today’s culture or if u still read the NME, I love post-punk probably my most favourite time of music 77 – 84,  Joy Division, New Order PIL, Throbbing Gristle, Ian Dury, Talking Heads, Devo, The Clash
I also love funk and soul and am still always finding new stuff that’s old, I have to say George Clinton, Gil Scott Heron have played a big part in influencing my sounds. I also like Grime, Drum and Bass, Garage, Techno and have experience in all these genres .
Q. What album/albums would you put up there as your favourite of all time?
A. I haven’t got one, probably something by the Beatles or Pink Floyd.
Q. So you worked with a few instrumentalists and producers to create this album; was it a difficult process putting it altogether or was the recording process typically easier than what you’ve experienced before?
A. My current  album COOLBEANZ was produced by Stevan Brown at matchbox audio , he played drums for me live for 2 years and this was the 2nd time I had worked with him in the studio. We worked very well together and it went very smoothly.
Q. So where did ‘Danny Dangerously’ as a name come from, is there a story or just a spur of the moment type thing?
A. I got the name Dannydangerously by performing at open mic nights in the late 90s and being unpredictable.
Q. So you’ve just released an album to Bandcamp, are there any big ideas planned for the future whether it be gigging with a group or music videos?
I recorded 3 music videos for Coolbeans, the title track, https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLBFLntFFFf4zWJ-59GrXAkcm3Aqn4m3E7 in the woods and 16 Years. The last one was shot by my kids on my phone. I played out mostly acoustic and with a loop pedal but was joined by Rhiannon on violin at some gigs and various other musicians.  I ended the year by playing gigs with members of The Logical Hairs and Trevor’s Head.
Q. What was the last song you listened to and would you recommend it?
A. The last song I listened to was Tax Loss by Manson, they were a Brit Pop band from the 90’s who had a couple of hits including this one and wide open space, I would recommend it.
So there you have it! I honestly urge you guys to check his music out; it’s like Ian Dury and Chic had a baby which then grew up listening to grunge. A weird mix and combination I know but blimming hell does it work! So send this guy some love by heading to his social networks and Bandcamp and showing some love!
Danny Dangerously New Album On Bandcamp: http://dannydangerously.bandcamp.com/album/coolbeanz
Danny Dangerously’s Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/Dannydangerously-116303899392/?fref=ts
Leave a Reply

