Music News: Freddie Mercury biopic breathes new life…

It feels like years ago now that I first heard about a Freddie Mercury biopic. Even at the time I thought the film was an unrealistic thought. I mean who could you possibly cast to do justice to the greatest showman of all time and perhaps the greatest musician of all time? It’s the role of a lifetime, about one of the most important musical lifetimes; the role of a lifetime if you have cahona’s like two potato’s. But, out of the blue, we finally have development on this story… And guess what… They’ve casted who will be Freddie Mercury.

Now before we were led to believe that Sacha Baron Cohen would take the role, but he dropped out due to creative differences. This is a great shame for me as I think he’d be perfect for the role; he’s a character actor capable of immense flexibility. He’s also a smart cookie and looks the part; it’s a bit of a shame that we can’t see him. But… I kind of like who they’ve casted instead anyway, so I’m not too fussed.

Rami Malek is the guy for the job now and I think he’s probably the best candidate at this time and date. He vaguely resembles Mercury and he’s a bloody good/underrated actor. I know a lot of people are unhappy about this decision but I’m looking forward to it, I think he has a lot to give to the role. It could be a career defining movie as well, heck we saw what Walk The Line did for Joaquin Phoenix. Rami’s casting was revealed, or rather leaked, over the weekend by the X Men director Bryan Singer who is currently in talks to direct the film. Exciting stuff…

Leave a Reply

